Timeless Trait Tuesday – Inviting and Welcoming

What makes you want to enter a house?  What makes you want to stay?

What makes a home invite you in and welcome you with open arms?

I think we can all agree that there are two categories: the exterior of a house invites you in, and the interior of a house welcomes you to stay.  Through my reading and my studies, I’ve found several characteristics that I think say “come on in and stay awhile!”

Exterior Characteristics

Sheltering Roof – symbol of home; offers protection and safety

Visible Entry – designated path to experiencing the inside of the home

Curb Appeal – appetizer to the interior

Interior Characteristics

Warmth

Texture

Natural Light

Comfort

Order

Personality

Rare for me, this post is long on images and shorter on words 🙂

A home is meant to be inhabited, lived in, cared for and enjoyed.  If it is not inviting, these things cannot take place.  After all, can something be timeless if no one wants to live in it or derive any joy from it?

16 thoughts on “Timeless Trait Tuesday – Inviting and Welcoming

  1. Beautiful photos, I feel like I could step right into any one of these and just start living! I especially like your sentiment at the end, “A home is to be inhabited, lived in, cared for, and enjoyed.” I think too many people get wrapped up in the aesthetics of making their home “just so” and forget to make it a place where they love to live. Thanks for linking up at The Little Birdie, I am SO looking forward to more posts from you! 🙂

  2. Pingback: (un)Wordless Wednesday | amaranthine aesthetic

  3. Beautiful photos! Love the exterior shots especially (well those and that awesome green dresser). I must admit, I have a 60s ranch with ZERO curb appeal (at least in my opinion)…That’s a future project though (after the interior is relatively finished). I never see any inspiration photos of a post WWII run-of-the-mill ranch. 😦 Have any of those on hand? I do know that I want a pergola over the front door and over a section of a {future} back yard deck. My walkway goes along the front of the house, from the side. I admire the homes with sidewalks leading right up to the front door. So inviting. Thought of you and wanted to stop in for a hello…Your blog is coming along quite nicely!

    xo,
    Jami

    • Thank you for the compliment 🙂 I’m glad you dropped by again! I will definitely keep my eyes out for great ranch houses and get back to you. Have a wonderful holiday weekend!

  4. Lovely photos!!! Love that one with the cow hide rug!!! Beautiful!!! And you are so right! It must be inviting to want to spend time there… and time must be spent to make it a home! Thanks for sharing on Fancy This Fridays again this week!!!

  5. Pingback: Timeless Trait Tuesday + (un)Wordless Wednesday = Continuance of Invitation | amaranthine aesthetic

  6. Pingback: Timeless Trait Tuesday – Welcome (Again!) | amaranthine aesthetic

Leave a Reply

